My KICKR Snap power is way off

Hi all,

I’ve been using Zwift with my Kickr Snap for about 5 months during winter and was very happy with it! As spring arrived, I stopped my Zwift subscription, bought a new bike and went outside. The weather became rainy again so I decided to renew my Zwift subscription. Only this time, I couldn’t complete any workout as the intervals were suddenly way too hard !

In the meantime I bought a Garmin Vector3 powermeter and was able to confirm that there was a 30-40% difference between the Snap and the Vector. 100W in Zwift (as reported by the Snap) was equivalent to 133W on the Vector; 200W (Snap) vs 270W (Vector).

I did an advanced spindown and got a brake factor of 1.0 (which is the recommended value). The Snap is connected to Zwift on my desktop via an ANT+ USB extension cable. Same setup as before. Vector3 connected to Garmin Forerunner 920XT via ANT+.

Wahoo support told me to tighten the tension knob until I get spindown times closer to 15 seconds but in the past I had no issue with spindown times in the 25 seconds range. When the tire touches the roller, I tighten the resistance knob 2 complete turns and I have no tire slippage afterwards. The tire pressure is 120 PSI, as recommended.

1/ Has anyone experienced something similar ?

2/ I read that Zwift now supports power matching in ERG mode, so should I set my Vector 3 as power source and Snap as controllable unit ?

3/ Should I return my Snap and have it replaced (I’m pretty sure I would have to pay for the shipping, and given the weight of the Snap, it’s gonna cost a fortune, so I would prefer if I could avoid this !)

Thanks in advance for your help !

I noticed a couple of concerns. I found a few instances where you had paired your Garmin Powermeter as a cadence sensor and kept your Wahoo paired as both Power and Controllable. That would certainly cause inaccuracies in the readings on your Garmin.