Incorrect category? How do I change?

Hi,

I am new to Zwift and loving it.
I am 47, 94kg and an ex BMX racer, so have some experience of bike racing, so dived straight into the races with my newly acquired Tacx Blue Motion trainer.

I entered some as D, got flagged, then some as C, got flagged, then some as B and was nearly winning races in shorter time trials. I appreciate that a ‘dumb’ trainer might not be the best but there were no others available. Most of my races were at around 3.5w/kg.

Last week I got a new Wahoo Kickr snap and my average has dropped to about 2.5w/kg. I am languishing right at the back of Cat B and obviously in the wrong cat.

Either my new setup is wrong (I have watched all the setup videos so hopefully not), my old trainer was WAY out, or a bit of both?

My son is 12 and after 1 week was number 1 in the world in his weight category. He is VERY athletic so I expected him to be good, but not that good. I think he needs to drop down to Cat B.

I have seen that the best 3 places in 90 days are taken for the cat level. If thats the case does that mean I have to stay in the wrong cat for another 2.5 months?

E-mail zwiftpower@zwift.com with links to your ZP accounts … and be patient.

1 Like

Thanks. I did yesterday and hoped there would have been a reply by now. I will be patient.

I use a kickr snap, and had no ends of problems with the data. The stronger I got the more the power output was exaggerated…in the end i hot flagged and bought (well my partner bought me after I moped about) a 4iii single crank power meter…I can now see my power was upto 54% higher when just on the snap. Sorry to be the bearer of bad news although I went from top 200 world wide so I did suspect something. What’s frustrating is that for me the kickr snap was a massive outlay, I struggled that a c£500 device wasn’t good enough but there we go!!!

1 Like

For me its been the other way. I suspected the Tacx was giving readings better than it should but this is way down.