I got stung by WKG

Hi everyone,

I’m new to Zwift Racing, although I’ve been in several group events after joining Zwift Power, and having done 5 rides my category was showing as a D. I’m 94kg, 174cm tall and 58 years old, so no spring chicken. My FTP is (was) 244W, so about 2.4 W/kg

This morning I joined the Innsbruck 3R flat ride as a D (which was what Zwift Power rating had advised as I’d not completed 5 races) and hung on for what I thought was 2nd place in Cat D, but seems my herculean effort pushed my FTP to 250 and my W/kg over the 2.5W/kg limit…hence the WKG disqualification.

Whilst I’m happy that I managed to put in a decent ride, its a bit annoying that I get penalised for trying hard and putting in a hard effort.

Guess I’ll be riding at my limit of 2.8W/kg in a vain effort to hold the wheel with Cat C riders from here…a new challenge I suppose.

Exactly the same thing happened in my first proper race.

Effectively a Cat and Mouse events, with Cat Ds going out first. I helped push the front Cat D group over the hour, and pushed hard in the KOM and sprint groups. In the end I hit 2.7W/Kg.

I’m 90Kg and 184cm and I get WKG DQ’d for carrying a group where others sat in a drafted and get rankings and I get nothing.

Really rather demoralising when you give it everything and are then DQ’d.

Guess I’ll do a few more Cat D races and hold back a bit for now, and then I’ll likely get moved up to C at some point. I look forward to being a weak C rider but seems there’s nothing I can do.

Don’t give up hope so easily. I was able to grab 5th of 17 at 2.9w/kg the other day:

And a win out of 11 racers at 2.8w/kg in January:

You don’t need to be right at the 3.1-3.2w/kg to be competitive in many of the races. It helps for sure but I wouldn’t let it deter me from racing altogether. I don’t have a crazy 325W ftp either. Last test I was 283W. It’s OK but nothing special either.

Be positive, race hard, race smart, have fun, and RIDE ON!

2 Likes