I bought my first frame! It was a horrible experience :(

UPDATE: I got a new message from customer support and a wonderful senior customer service agent swooped in and saved the day. They offered a reasonable resolution and are looking at fixing the image. Wow! Such a quick response to feedback. You folks are great!

Hi! I’m a new Zwifter and I’ve been riding for about 2 months. I’m fully engaged! I’ve been riding 4-5 times a week and have really enjoyed the experience so far. Today, the other shoe dropped.

After riding for the first few weeks and enjoying some unlocks, customizing my little dude, exploring Watopia, and buying my first set of wheels (how fun!) I started looking at frames. “Wow,” I thought, “that’s a lot of drops! I guess I’ll pick one that looks cool and save up! It’ll be a good motivator.” I looked through all the frames and settled on the Focus Izalco. I’d be level 9 soon (a requirement to unlock it) and it has a sweet paint job!

Look at that guy. So fun and pastel. Cool!

For the next month and a half I slowly leveled up and saved up 426,000 drops and then bought it today. I rushed to the garage and equipped the frame to my character and … it’s gray? Flat gray. I can change the color just like on the stock Zwift frame but that’s it. No cool pastel patch work, just a solid, boring color.

“Huh? What am I missing?”, I thought.

I emailed support to ask what I was doing wrong. Was there a button I was missing? What gives?

There was not. Support informed me that the picture is not what you get when you buy the frame. The picture in the shop is the frame with an old, event-only paint job applied, that is impossible to get now.