How to combat cheating

I’ve been zwifting consistently for the past 6 months again: zwiftpower 35015 and have been getting a serious “cheating” burnout. There are a couple of things that seem to happen intentionally and some unintentionally:

1. Weight doping
  2. Zpower riders ruining races
  3. Trainers with terrible calibration

One thing that most people that actively cheat have in common is that they don’t have a real profile picture on Zwift, Strava, Zwiftpower. They also have private profiles on one or more of those platforms.

There are a couple of things that indicate you can trust someone:

1. Real names and profile picture. Dating sites have figured out how to do this pretty well.
  2. Vouched for by other trusted racers in their region
  3. Outdoor power data
  4. Race license numbers
  5. Double power recordings
  6. Weigh in data
  7. DQs are negative

Each of those add to a trustworthy score (like a credit score). You let race organizers set the min trustworthy score for their race, which can be different per category, and you integrate zwiftpower into Zwift so that you can see if someone is trustworthy but also you don’t release the results immediately until the results have been certified. Cheaters don’t go check the real results on zwiftpower.

For people that meet the bar, they can ride on Zwift or find races where reputation doesn’t matter.

Ultimately it’s up to Zwift to decide whether they want to fight people cheating and cater to honest customers that want to invest into a fair racing platform. That investment for riders could be in the form of power meters, etc. So yeah maybe racing indoors is more expensive than some people want but it might be what’s needed to keep honest customers engaged.