Help needed to connect Schwinn 170 stationary bike with Zwift

Hi Zwifters! I am unable to connect my Schwinn 170 stationary bike with Zwift. What BLE app do I need to synchronize my Bluetooth with Zwift?

My bike’s Bluetooth is working fine since I am already getting data using the Schwinn app. I also tested it using BLE Scanner and I am getting data.

What am I missing here? Thanks!

I don’t see that bike listed as being supported by Zwift. It might only work with the console on the bike and the Schwinn app, they can be very proprietary.

https://support.zwift.com/en_us/indoor-bikes-rkRxp7Zgr#Schwinn

3 Likes

That trainer does not broadcast any metrics so you would need some type of power meter to use it with Zwift.

2 Likes

Hi Paul, do you have any suggestion of power meter you recommend? Is that an app or a piece of hardware. Sorry I’m new to this. Thanks!

It would be a piece of hardware, and it is not going to be cheap.

It would depend on if a power meter would fit. Would pedal based power meter bolt on? Would something like the 4iiii left-side only work: https://shop.4iiii.com/collections/power-meters/products/precision-powermeter

Or you could replace the Shcwinn with something that would work like the Bowflex C6 stationary bike.

This link could help you: What You Need To Ride

1 Like

Very helpful. Thank you Paul!

Schwinn 170/270 BLE protocol support should be added to Zwift. Service UUID: 3bf58980-3a2f-11e6-9011-0002a5d5c51b, EventRecordDesc UUID: 5c7d82a0-9803-11e3-8a6c-0002a5d5c51b contains cadence and power data. Example: hxxps://github.com/ursoft/connectivity-samples/blob/08c4b415fa57da2b595cf195b695093615ec65d8/BluetoothLeGatt/Application/src/main/java/com/example/android/bluetoothlegatt/BluetoothLeService.java#L176

I think it is the other way around: Schwinn need to send the data that Zwift need. Zwift follow the standard Blutooth protocol. some trainers use a propriety protocol.

1 Like