Help me understand the race within the race

Noob here. I dont understand the sub-races that happen within races. For instance, when I am in a race, a banner shows on the left that there is some time trial, a sprint or a loop. It seems that these have distinct start and stop points within the race, and my time is shown against others in the race. It is never clear to me when these time trials start or stop, I think it has something to do with the banners. But I cant see any indication on the screen that I am in the middle of one, and I cannot see any markers on the maps (like in Zwift Companion) as to where these races-within-the-race occur. They also are not even in the race descriptions!

It feels like there is a secret that others know that I am not in on - (many things in Zwift feel this way when you are new to it BTW)

Hi Chris

Think of them as best times between two points - either up a mountain (KOM) or in a sprint. They are indicated by a green dotted line on the road and marker and end with a red line and marker. You’ll get familiar with them as you ride around. The box appears on the left when one is coming up.

People use them either in free rides or in group rides, where a group leader might say “drop behind me if you want to sprint” and then some sprint to better their times and some just keep riding and the group comes back together.

So they’re not really a race within a race like a Grand Tour points jerey or KOM. If you are racing, you’re best off ignoring them and worrying about your race.

Have a look at this guide on ZI for more explanation.

I’m sure others will do a better job of explaining it than I have but come back to us if you have any more questions.