Constant buzzing noise from App when riding, is this 'road noise'?

Hi, I’m fairly new to using Zwift. When I am riding I get a constant ‘buzzing’ noise from the Zwift App. Is this supposed to be ‘road noise’, it increases as other riders pass me or I pass them.

I don’t think I have ever heard any sort of buzzing noise. Can you provide a complete rundown or your setup, especially what sort of speakers you are using, that would be helpful.

1 Like

There is definitely a new “road noise” sound that came with the latest update and all the other sounds they added/changed/updated.

I personally don’t care for it, glad I can turn down the sound fx.

Did they add freewheel hub clicking sounds when we coast?

Hi Nigel, I am using a just Samsung Galaxy Tab S5e. I would record it and post it on here, but not sure we can attach files to these posts?

As Mike said, it’s the new normal, it’s a new sound that was introduced recently.

You can control the sound effects volume to a certain extent through the menu and Settings. Or just turn down your speakers/TV/earphones/etc.

I just realized that I had not noted this new sound because I’ve had my volume turned down! (I’ve been watching races on GCN+ while riding.) I just checked it out and, WOW!, is that annoying. I think I’ll be keeping the sound off until that is changed. (I also can’t believe it’s taken a bit to have a comment on this.)

It does seem to be somewhat related to the proximity of other riders (sound abates to some degree when no riders are around), but I still can’t figure out what this sound is supposed to be ‘simulating’.

1 Like

Sometimes it seems to overlap with another rider’s sound, creating an odd reverb effect that isn’t pleasant.

1 Like