Wahoo tickr x v Garmin hrm pro

Has anyone any advice im thinking of changing to Wahoo HRM chest strap, i have been using garmin for the last 8 years and have gone through about 5 Garmin monitors, once i seem to change the battery they stop working properly and then stop working altogether,
Any advice be great

I had Garmin straps in past as well (without BT). When I started zwifting, I first used a laptop with ANT+ dongle to connect to HR chest strap but when the Garmin’s chest strap started acting up few months later, I decided to buy a new one.

Due to price point (1/2 of Garmin’s) and previous smooth experience with Wahoo’s cadence sensor, I decided to give Wahoo Tickr a try. It is almost one year later now and the chest strap has been very reliable. The only time when it was acting up was when I replaced battery 2 weeks later and forgot to reset it (it dropped to 0 bpm in the middle of next ride which unfortunately was ZRL race…my mistake!). When I did the reset properly the following day, it came back to be reliable again. I can recommend :+1:

A plus for me is also that the Wahoo’s chest strap supports multiple BT and ANT+ connections so I can be connected to Zwift on tablet (BT), TrainerRoad on mobile (BT) and Garmin watch and Wahoo headwind via ANT. But that is probably what any recent Garmin strap would support as well.

I had a Wahoo Tickr-X, when it worked it was great, burnt through batteries and had to wait for it to “warmup”, sometimes it didn’t.
Replaced it after a year as it got worse, went back to Garmin, this time with both BT & ANT+
The Garmin has been rock solid reliable, just need a torx-5 to replace the battery once tha battary finally goes.
I’d wanted to move to a Wahoo eco-system, ended up with Garmin HRM & Watch instead.

The Garmin HRM just works.

1 Like