Speed and Cadence off on new Zwift Hub

I am new to Zwift and the forum. I have recently set up the Zwift Hub mounting a road bike with Shimano 105, 10 speed cassette. I set the “Trainer Difficulty” bar to about 2/3 of max and did a 30 minute test ride on a level ride with little elevation. Note that I also did a successful calibration spin earlier. The speed, power and cadence sensing are all sourced from and paired with the Zwift Hub. I also have a heart rate monitor paired. Pedaling in the highest gear at a brisk cadence on the real road gets my around 40 mph. On the hub around 20. Pedaling at an estimated 120 (or as fast as I could without bouncing on the saddle) ranged from between 50 and 90 on the hub. It also felt like too easy to achieve the watts displayed. Can someone point me in the right direction (article, video, tutorial) that can help me get more realistic performance and effort characteristics from the hub? Thanks,

Hi @BoltonBerry welcome to Zwift forums and Zwift in general!

At the heart of everything, Zwift is predicated on power - that is to say, how many watts you’re able to put out. On a controllable smart trainer, not only is it important to calibrate the trainer, but to calibrate YOU - i.e. how much power you sustain for X minutes. This is called your functional threshold power (FTP), and depending on the type of test, it might be a 5 minute, 20 minute, or 60 minute test.

Here is our Support Hub article on FTP tests, and how you can do one to measure yours.

If your FTP setting is too low - especially when you’re in workout (ERG) mode - the trainer will not provide enough resistance. If your FTP setting is unrealistically high - the game thinks you’re much stronger than you are, and will control the trainer’s resistance so high you might have a hard time getting the pedals to move at all.