Sore butt

Okay - I just bought my first trainer and rode indoors for the first time today. After about 40 minutes my butt was really sore. Still is a couple of hours after the run. I was wearing my usual bibs and I usually rise for 2 to 4 hours without any issue. Is this normal for a trainer (mine is direct drive) since there isn’t a tire under you? Anyone else ever have this?

I’ve been wondering about this too, a little bit. I’ve been riding my direct drive trainer about 3X/week for a few months and it seems my butt still hurts more than it should. I blamed it on swapping saddles a few weeks ago, but it seems more than that. I have two pairs of padded shorts, and I do think the thicker padded ones (high quality) actually make it worse, so there’s a few variables.

If you’re using the same saddle, but feeling it more on the trainer, then I’d think about slight changes in riding posture and/or intensity vs outdoor riding.

I’m doing the Jett endurance 100 miler this weekend and will probably use some cream. I did it once a few weeks ago without cream. The discomfort comes/goes throughout the ride.

If you search the forum a bit you’ll probably find a number of threads similar to this. For many the solution seems to be to make a more concerted effort to stand or change your position. When riding the trainer it is far easier to just remain in a static position than when riding outside. So, I’d start there, since there is no additional cost to it, and see if this helps the issue. I know I had some troubles when I first started riding Zwift a lot, but now 5 and 6 hour rides are no issue.

2 Likes

changing position frequently is your best bet for sure.

also, chaffing seems to be a bigger problem (at least for me) indoors – get some chamois butt’r!

https://www.amazon.com/s?k=butt'r+chamois+cream&crid=2ODVPEOZY9XPU&sprefix=butt'r%2Caps%2C200&ref=nb_sb_ss_ts-ap-p_2_6