Sit bone pain help!

Has anyone experienced extreme sit bone pain after an indoor ride? I’m new to indoor training and signed up for Zwift a couple weeks ago. I’ve been thoroughly enjoying it and had an 8.5 hour week last week where as my typical would be 4-5 hours outdoors. I did a race last night that was an hour long, and had a great performance, but didn’t once stand up to give my butt a break (was in the zone and dint want to get dropped ha). I could tell my butt was a little sore but no more than any other ride I’ve done at this point.

I stretched a little after as I felt a little tight, and about 20’ later it felt like I had high hamstring strains on both sides. I could only get into half the normal “prayer stretch” that I should be able to. Needless to say I think I overdid it. Looks like I could have potentially inflamed the bursa the covers the sitbones. I’ve never experienced this in the 5+ years of road biking I’ve done…

Has anyone else gone through this? I’m thinking I need to obviously take a break from the bike until things feel better, stand much more frequently, and probably worth looking into a saddle with a little more cushion like the Sella Italia Max Flight Gel. I’m currently using a 1st gen Kurt kinetic rock and roll trainer so I’m not locked into one position.

Any help would be much appreciated!!!

Are you using the same bike on your trainer as the one you use outdoors? If not then there could be differences in the setup leading to your issues. I have a dedicated trainer bike that is an identical frame to my road bike so I know they are the same.

It could also be you are holding yourself in a different position on the trainer setup. Perhaps not as relaxed? After a while I think you’ll find your sit bones adapt. After years and years of cycling I’m fairly confident I could sit on a saddle made of nails and not feel a thing. Everything is a bit numb down there.