Recovery/low intensity rides - How to?

Ok, this might sound like a ridiculous question to some but i’m new to all of this so please bare with me.

I have been riding on zwift for the past 3 weeks and i’m really enjoying myself, especially trying different routes, but i’m finding that most rides that i’m doing I end up in zone 4 and 5 as I can’t help myself and go as hard as I can.

Today I noticed that I was starting to get really exhausted in the middle of a ride and I didn’t have as much energy as I normally do. Now i’ve been reading about the need to do a recovery ride but i’m struggling to figure out what that would look like for me, I know people ride way longer than I do on zwift so it may not be the same for everyone.

I have been doing 20 - 40km rides nearly every day that end up on average 90% of my FTP and mostly in zone 4 and 5.

If I were to create a custom workout what would a good recovery/lower intensity ride look like? I’ve looked on the workouts page and I see that low intensity endurance rides are usually ‘on your own’ but i’d like to know what that might actually look like in terms of FTP % and length on the bike.

I really appreciate the help or any directions you can provide.

Cheers!

Zone 1, 30 to 60 mins. Don’t use erg mode, don’t be afraid to coast down hills. I prefer to do recovery rides based on HR rather than power, below ~70% of anaerobic threshold HR. Having a power target shouting at you on the screen is absolutely antithetical to the concept of a recovery ride.

Sounds like you could do with some longer (90 mins or more) base (zone 2) rides as well…

8 Likes

@Nico_V1

Recovery is very important, if it is hard to stay in Z1 then create a workout at 50% of your FTP for 60 min. then you won’t go over.

As Anna said, a good Z2 70% of FTP for 90 minutes will be good.

6 Likes

You should start following an 80-20 plan. You are going too hard too often, which can cause burnout, sickness or injury.

5 Likes