PRL Full Advice and Bike choice

Hey everyone

I am going to try the PRL Full tomorrow for the first time - it’s my last route badge and I’ve been putting it off for almost 9 months since finishing the Uber.

Any advice?

What about bike choice? Although I will be doing it solo, tomorrow is a London day so I imagine there will be a fair amount of people on the loop. Still not sure whether to go for the Tron bike or a TT bike with light climbing wheels like the Lightweights or DT Swiss or ENVE 3.4s.

Any nutrition tips would be similarly appreciated along with any suggestions as to pacing (% of ftp for the climbs and for the flats etc).

Thanks in advance!

I did PRL Full on Saturday, the 13th of February. That was my last Zwift route badge.
I used the Tron bike. I figured the flats would be good for Tron, and the climbs are not long or steep enough to warrant a climbing setup.
I averaged 171 watts, 5:50 ride time. My FTP is around 230. My goal was to finish under 6 hours, and do each lap in around 30 minutes - I averaged 30:30 per lap, so pretty spot on.
I got off the bike each descent after the Box Hill climb. Even thought it’s only a 3 or so minutes, it was good to walk around a bit and refill the water bottle.
I took a break after 4 laps, then after another 3 laps, and then just before the 10th climb of Box Hill.
I ate 2 PB&J sandwitches, one Cliff bar, 2 bottles of sports drink, 2 small Cokes, and a couple of Pickle Juice shots.
After I finished, I drank a Muscle Milk, and used a massage roller on my quads. I was sore that evening, but felt really good the next day.

Good luck!

10 Likes

For the PRL I resorted to not actually watching Zwift and put a couple of films on. It’s mentally challenging because it’s the same loop repeated 11 times.

You can see where you are on the companion app and you’ll feel the resistance on box hill and the escalator.

I didn’t care about my time so just kept the legs turning.

Good luck.

1 Like