Newbie Question - Watts going uphill

Hello,

I’m new to cycling and even newer to Zwift. I have a Wahoo Kikr Snap. I am on ERG mode with 100% trainer difficulty and my height/weight is accurate.

On relatively flat surfaces I hold around 100w and I’m passed constantly. Even the slower riders eventually pull away from me. On uphills, however, I have noticed that my watts shoot up to 250 or even as high as 350 and I’m flying past all the people I was struggling to keep up with on the flats.

I don’t mind people passing me on flats because I’m new, but I don’t like easily passing people on the uphills because I feel like I’m cheating.

Anyone got any idea what’s going on here. Sorry if this is a stupid question or has already been covered (I did briefly search before posting), but I am genuinely brand new to cycling and don’t know anything about watts or how the trainer works.

Thanks.

I’m relatively new to Zwift as well, my first season on the game, but I would say you are expecting “sim” mode behavior from a trainer that’s in “erg” mode. If you are actually in ERG mode, the trainer should be giving you a constant resistance(wattage) no matter what speed you are pedalling. The resistance is determined by your selected training program, and has nothing to do with what the course climb grade shown on screen is.
SIM mode is simulated riding outdoors. If your avatar is climbing a hill, your resistance increases with the grade.
In both modes, your speed uphill is just a function of your in-game entered weight and your wattage output. In ERG you simply don’t have the added resistance/effort dragging your cadence down.