Fine-tuning Resistance

Hi-I’m very new to Zwift. This is my second week and I am truly enjoying it.

I have two questions:

1. Is there a way to add more resistance to the pedals during group rides? I get the idea of drafting but I was literally spinning like crazy to get to a decent wattage. Shifting up didn’t really help either.

2. Is there a way to see the course profiles during/before the rides? Can I see my location on the course?

I use a Wahoo Kickr trainer. Thank you!

Hi @redpanda, welcome to Zwift.

Are you sure you were in a group ride, or was it a group workout? It sounds like you were in ERG mode.

Use the companion app while riding for a large map screen, it doesn’t show you the elevation profile, but it will show where you are on the map and you can zoom in or out.

1 Like

I think I was on group workout. Ugh is there a difference between those two? I have no idea I was on erg mode or not. I tried to adjust using the trainer difficulty but that wasn’t helping. Anyways thanks for the feedback @Mike_Rowe1 . I’ll try a few other rides to test my settings.

1 Like

Oh yes, very different. ERG mode controlls the resistance of the trainer based on the workout target wattage. Check out zwiftinsider.com for tons of tips about zwift. You can search for ERG mode on zwiftinsider to get more detail about how it works.

This option will make hills feel more realistic when not in ERG mode and just free riding or doing a group ride or race. Another topic to search for on zwiftinsider. :wink:

Zwift insider also has the profiles of all the courses.

1 Like

Thank you @Paul_Bonham !!! I just want a course that I can climb my heart out. Like those short mountain stages in grand tours LOL.

1 Like

I got to the bottom of my problem @Mike_Rowe1 . Apparently, I am spinning out on the flats like many other people. There are whole discussions on this topic on message boards.

I will max the trainer difficulty and see if that works. Thanks for all the recommendations!!!