Newbie just starting 6wk Beginner FTP Builder. Where to start?

I’m a complete newb. Just got a Wahoo KICKR Core. I thought it would be important to establish my FTP but wanted to work up to the test. I’m 46 years old and was wondering if anyone had a suggestion as to what I should set the FTP at before the workouts. I haven’t been exercising regularly, or at all, but I’m not over weight and in relatively good shape.

Hi,

I’m fairly, 3-4 times a week I have done the 4 week FTP builder and it is really good, if you ask me just do an FTP test now and be done with it, you will know very early on if you do the shorter one if you are going to even be able to turn the pedals over, it would pay to be conservative. If you really really want to try and get a number of some sort before you do it, just trying doing something 100 watts for 5 minutes and see how you feel if that is easy try and do 150 watts for 5 minutes and see how you go. The 2 FTP tests I have done at the end I just wanted it all to end :slight_smile:

Which I guess is the aim, trial and error if you can’t hold a power output of a certain wattage at 85-95 rpm for 5 minutes, it’s too high, etc, etc, it’s quick and easy to reset and restart as well.

Also be aware, this was all new to me right, the actual FTP test itself is done in free ride mode, it switches to free ride for the actual test, so try and do some free riding and see how the trainer/setup feels in free ride and get used to it, its very different to ERG mode.

1 Like

Thanks for the input. Sounds like a good idea. I guess once I get a number I can go back to the builder workout and input that number to build upon?