New to Zwift, getting differing results

Hi All.
I’ve had Zwift for a week now. For the long, dark winter time nights. I’m enjoying it so far but, i have noticed a very large discrepancy im miles between my Garmin watch (connected to my Elite Direto X) and Zwift. In some cases up 25%!!

How accurate are miles in Zwift, or my turbo data??? Im completely new to turbo’s as well as Zwift.
Even though im not using the elite app for training as, I cant get both Elite an Zwift to connect to the turbo at the same time AND annoyingly the Elite PC app has no minimise button!!
So useless for switching between apps and entertainment (music/films) so all im using the Elite app for is updating rider weight…

Another question i have is: The Elite app for the turbo asks for rider AND bike weight… but, Zwift only asks for rider weight. To be honest I weigh myself and update all apps, Garmin Elite and Zwift before I Zwift but, should I be adding the weight of my bike?

This is the only thing i can think of for such a large discrepancy. Apart from just normal data differences between apps but, 25% seems way to high to me? Or are zwift miles more of scoring points rather than actual miles???

Thanks very much in advance!!

Jonathan

No, you shouldn’t add your bike weight to your own weight for Zwift.

This should help - How Does Zwift Determine My Speed?

Speed obviously affects distance covered.

1 Like

Your turbo is only guessing in a very rudimentary fashion your mileage. On zwift your are covering virtual ground, with loads of different dynamics based on real life baked in - for example rolling resistence, gradients, aerodynamics, draft, etc. Ignore the turbo trainer numbers and go by the zwift mileage.

You can sync your Zwift activities to garmin to ensure your data is considered. No need to record on the watch itself.

1 Like

Thanx for the speedy replies, So the differences are normal, pay attention to Zwift miles?
I Was worried my set up was wrong…