New to indoor training and Zwift

Hi all I’m very new to cycling indoors and have been looking for an indoor trainer to help me over the winter keeping me fit.

I have a gravel bike with a 40T from chain ring off the front and 11 - 42T cassette on the rear. I have a 142mm rear through axel and I’m a heavier rider in the UK. I have been looking at the spec of the Zwift hub smart trainer for my first step into indoor training.

My question is around the front chain ring. If i order the trainer with the 11 cassette will i be at a disadvantage in the application with a 40T from ring only ?

Depending on ability, 40T is small for front chainring and you’ll spinout at pace. Zwift have tools to help with that for downhill (Trainer Difficulty) but on the flats you may struggle. At my average cadence of 80rpm with 11t rear and a 40T, I’d be ~37km/h. The low-end Cat C pace bot Coco cruises around Tempus Fugit at ~40km/h.

You can use bikecalc.com to work out speed vs cadence/gearing to give you some insight.

1 Like

Dean is right, but because I typed this up before I saw his reply I’ll still post it, lol. Running 40-11 at 90 RPM will get you almost 27mph/43kph. That should be good on the flat for many people, although sprinting will be affected–and if you’re a stud you’ll spin out on the flats too :slight_smile: . Downhills will spinout though, yeah. But 40-11 won’t be bad for a lot of zwifting for a lot of people, at least.

If you can throw for example an XD hub on the trainer and get a 10-XX cassette, then 40-10 at 90rpm will get you around 30mph/47kph.

1 Like

Depending on the bike, you might also be able to throw on a larger chainring (will need a new chain too at that point). But that might be cheaper. What make/model/year of bike do you have?

That is my sprint … :rofl:

1 Like

I have a Niner RLT 9 in aluminium with an SRAM Apex gear set.

Would an alternative trainer be better and match the rear cassette i have or still going to have issues ?