Need bike recommendation for use with Wahoo Kickr

What type of bike is ‘best’ for using in Zwift? Does it matter? (I’m assuming it does, either for comfort on long rides, or for performance/speed maybe?). I do want to eventually be able to hold my own in zwift and be able to keep with a group of people once I’m in better shape.

I’m just getting into cycling, mostly because it’s a great way to get/stay in shape - but also riding in Zwift I find very motivating and fun. My regular outdoor bike is just a mountain bike, and for now I’ve connected that one to the Wahoo Kickr trainer but the end goal is to put a different bike on the trainer that will be there “permanently”. Then maybe eventually I get a similar bike for outdoors too when I can afford it if I find I no longer like my mtb for outdoor riding.

For the indoor bike, I’m going to look for a used bike. I don’t want to spend a lot, but I don’t know what I ideally should look for.

One thing - I do have a hand-me-down here but I’m not sure it’s worth fixing… it’s a Specialized en14764. It was kept at an oceanfront property in a covered garage, so most of the parts are rusted. I also don’t like the foot pedals, so betweel replacing those and putting new parts I’m not sure it’s worth investing in, unless it happens to be a very ideal bike for the trainer.

Otherwise I’m thinking of just checking local Craigslist for a decent bike to keep on the trainer, and looking for some brand name/styles or types of bikes you recommend?

For a used bike that will just stay on the trainer, I’m hoping to spend a few hundred dollars, if there’s anything good in that price range. I see used bikes over $2k but that def is not in my budget.

Thanks in advance for any advice, recommendations or guidance.

Look for a modern geometry aluminum frame with Shimano 105 components on it.

This is hard question to answer.
I would say the cheapest used bike that fits you is best.