Is this cheating?

Just finished the ‘build me up’ programme with an FTP of 3.6 W/kg. I fancied trying out a race but, as I’ve never done one before, wanted to break myself in gently. Now, my FTP would suggest cat B but that seems a bit like getting thrown to the lions so would doing the first race as a cat C be cheating?

I think the word you’re looking for is “sandbagging.”

1 Like

A legitimate C category rider has an FTP from 2.5 w/kg to 3.2 w/kg.

Yes, I know. But I’ve also never done a race before in my life. That’s why I asked the question

this is an interesting question, and there seems to be a theme developing in the forum for questions along these lines. for the “regular joe” zwifter (which is me), it’s really hard to understand if the numbers you see in zwift are accurate, and all of our experiences are colored by what we see in our own numbers.

here’s what my experience looks like, and why i might question whether your 3.6w/kg FTP is correct. (i’m not saying it’s wrong, just that it raises a question for me)

i’ve been riding zwift for just short of 3 years. i ride more or less 5 nights a week for 1-1.25 hours each session. i push myself pretty hard, and i do C cat races and difficult C and B category group rides, with the occassional D- ride for recovery. i don’t use zwiftpower because i’m not interested in my finish, just the workout i get from the ride, and my own improvement.

i weigh 174lbs (79kg) and my FTP is around 250w right now, making my FTP w/kg about 3.16. when is started, i was 180lbs and FTP was 180w. i’ve been on a kickr snap trainer the entire time, i do regular spin downs (with the correct spindown time in the wahoo app), run tires at 110-120 PSI and have up-to-date firmware. i’m also 38 years old with 2 kids that drain a lot of energy :slight_smile:

i know i can hold 3.75-4 w/kg for about 15 mins tops before my heart rate max is hit. i can sprint pretty hard, and max at 1200w for maybe 10 seconds (decreasing across the 10 seconds).