Inclination in race

Hi, maybe a stupid question, but I am new in Zwift. During races am I supposed to adjust the inclination as shown in the upper-right box? I ask because I want to be honest…but not stupid, and I think very few people follow the inclination during races.
Thanks

No, you don’t need to adjust the elevation of your treadmill if you don’t want to.

Thanks, neither in races?

It’s your choice if you want to change the elevation during races, there are no rules stating you have to.

Even if you are running at a set speed for a long period of time, upping the incline to only 1 or 2 will help you avoid shin splints and other injuries (plus burn more calories, engage more muscles, and simulate outdoor running more effectively). Link [10 Beginner Tips For Running On A Treadmill - [2022 Edition]]

Thanks, I know it and I usually train with 1-2% of inclination. But in race is it for sure easier if you are at 0%. That’s why I asked

Hi,
I could not find an article in Internet that says running with 0% incline is like running downhill. But if you put it in 1 or 2% it works better because you “recreate” resistance (like wind, etc.)
I’ll try to find it…

You are better off increasing the speed of the belt instead of adding incline which could cause other issues. I would suggest varying the incline throughout the run.

There is not definitive proof for setting it at 1%.