Get rid of the Jensie badge already!

I’m one of the riders who prefers, almost exclusively rides with groups.

In nearly every group there are people who are constantly soliciting for ride-ons so they can get their Jensie. This is not in the spirit of cycling, not in the spirit of Zwift.

The worst is that in today’s ALS group ride with Andre, there were countless people who clearly joined the ride (which I think was the largest ever?) just to solicit for ride-ons. This is tacky and unacceptable.

Please consider simply removing the badge, or, even better, award it to people who GIVE 100 ride-ons rather than receive.

I’m a newbie to Zwift (level 9) and don’t get many ride ons per activity. Yet I have recieved over 100. As this badge is so easy to get, maybe those you are talking about have other motives.
More likely is that I’ve totally misunderstood.
This does bring to mind a question of my own. Although I like to receive ride ons, I don’t understand their purpose. Is it just to encourage support, or are there in game rewards (other than the badge)?

@Jonathan_Howe they are two-fold. 1) they do provide moral support while riding, for instance they were extremely helpful for me during my grueling trip up the Alpe du Zwift today. 2) They increase your drop rate for 15 seconds

@Tony_AG many people enjoy the social aspect of Zwift and receiving the moral support from the community. Also many enjoy collecting all the badges that are available. If it isn’t your thing just ignore it, or turn off group chat so you don’t see it.

2 Likes

Thanks for your reply. My curiosity is now satisfied.

@Tony_AG I was on the ALS ride and asked people for ride ons because I committed to donate $5 for every one I received. Which I did. Others were doing the same.

How is this not in the spirit of the ride?

7 Likes

Nice one Ben, to both you and the others. :+1:

Mic drop

1 Like