First Ride Feedback

Finally got a chance to ride Zwift! I just wanted to write some of my initial impressions.

Equipment: PowerTap 2nd Generation ANT+ on a dumb fluid trainer, Garmin Soft Strap HR Monitor, GSC 10 Speed/Cadence (used only for cadence as I didn’t have the speed magnet on my tire. PC: Laptop with i7 4500U, 12GB RAM, and Radeon 8750M graphics. I was riding in the garage and had wifi (which may not have had the best signal strength) but it was good enough to stream TV on my tablet in addition to Zwift on my laptop. I was using the Garmin mini USB stick along with USB extenders to run the ANT+ stick along my top tube and then stuck it in the strap of my saddle bag. I’m not sure if this was needed, but I have had trouble previously with my PowerTap and Garmin head unit, and I didn’t want to have to change things once I started riding. I set my laptop on top of a small pile of cardboard boxes, and put it in front of my front wheel.

When I started up the game, all my sensors paired really quickly. I made sure to give my wheel a few spins to wake up all the sensors. Zwift remembered my HR strap from the few times I was spectating while wearing it, and then I paired my other sensors which only took about 5 seconds.

When I was placed in the game, it seems like I was just thrown into the middle of the road. I was right next to another stationary cyclist and a couple of other riders were flying past us. I think it would make more sense if you were placed on the side of the road when you started, or if your rider was a ‘ghost’ until you start riding.