Downhill speed increases dramatically dispte Cadance and Gears not changing

I’m new to my Smart Bike and Zwift… wasn’t able to find a similar issue but suspect that’s because its user error!

When riding a route in Zwift (Not a Training session) I find that if I maintain the same cadence and don’t change gear my speed dramatically increases… why?

I have a possibly related observation when climbing a hill, I shift down a gear and only for a few seconds does it make a difference, but then the same resistance applies - even when I’m in my lowest possible gear… where naturally I should be putting in high cadence numbers but hardly moving! In this instance, it almost feels like I change down, but Zwift slowly just increases resistance because it wants me to struggle.

Any guidance or suggestions appreciated.

Without some specific examples of when/where you are seeing this it is a little hard to say if there is an issue, or what it might be. Heading down a hill, for example, your speed could increase, even if cadence and gears don’t change, due to a change in the steepness of the hill. Same goes for going uphill and slowing down. From what you are saying, it also sounds a bit like you might be in ERG mode, as opposed to SIM mode.

1 Like

Like Nigel said my first thought reading this is you were in a workout and the trainer was in ERG mode. During workouts/ERG mode Zwift ignores the gradient and tells your trainer to keep you at a redefined wattage. So if you downshifted in ERG your trainer would see lower power than it is being told to maintain so it ups the resistance to get your power back to where it should be.

When in ERG you shouldn’t shift, your trainer will provide the needed resistance. The only time to shift in ERG is basically the FTP test section of the long and short tests.