D events always seem faster than 2W/kg

(75 years Lynn 75 Years M70) #1

I have been using Zwift for three months and have joined several D events. I have never been in one where there were less than 70% of the riders off the front just a bit under 3 W/kg. I am 75 years old and with as many riders as there are on Zwift one would think the folks at Zwift could get creative offering ways for older riders to feel like they can be competitive.

Some ideas:

• Cap maximum power at 10% over the maximum advertised event class. If you go faster your incline goes UP. Or some other method to “rubber band” riders ignoring the advertised power to be held on the front of the pack.
  • Have a method to control age minimums in events the same way men are not allowed in women’s events. For example for a 50+ event riders under 50 could not join.
  • Have a method for older riders to start riding and make their desire to ride with other older riders known so that when a threshold number of riders existed in their age class they could ride off together.

I hope other older riders will get creative add to this list and I am hopeful Zwift will hear us and find some method at minimum development cost that will help us.

Lynn Saunders

(Tomas S) #2

In my opinion you can only compete with your self on this platform,we all have different trainers etc so it cant be fair,also cheating is a way of life for some people! if people would put out the same amount of watts in real life they would be dominating the tdf…just keep on riding zwift is still a great tool for indoors training.

(Joe Daknis) #3

@Tomas S,

I don’t necessarily disagree with you - though I can’t for the life of me understand why someone who’s going to ‘cheat’ would enter as Category D in the first place.