Biking for beginners

Hey guys!

I have been using Zwift for a little over 2 years for running but I just recently started biking as well. Is is normal for the group D recovery pace to be hard? It’s usually around 1.2 - 1.5 w/kg and im pouring sweat and barely hanging on to the recovery group.

I can’t tell if my bike isn’t calibrated right or if my fitness in running doesn’t translate to biking. How long does it normally take to adjust to riding at a recovery pace?

It could is reasonable for that pace to be hard depending on your background, and your experience. Could you provide more details about your equipment?

3 Likes

I just got the elite trainer and hooked it up to my specialized bike. It’s a 7 speed road model. ( sorry I’m new to bikes). It’s certainly not a good racing bike but it should be middle of the road.

4 Likes

Welcome to the Forums, Laura.
As Oliver wrote, it is possible that everything is working well and that you, as someone relatively new to cycling, are still developing your physical ‘engine’ for cycling, despite being an established runner.

I had a look at some of your cycling activities in Companion and there’s nothing there to suggest a technical issue. The good news is that you’ll probably make substantial gains in the short-to-medium term, if you ride regularly and continue to push yourself a little.
In case it’s useful and you haven’t tried it yet, there’s also a new Pace Partner that rides in Watopia at 1.1 W/kg (Dorothy Duster), if you wanted a steady ride that’s slightly less demanding. It’s less social than doing group rides, but a handy means of practising riding with others. Perfecting your drafting abilities in Zwift will also mean that you’ll be able to ride faster at lower wattages.

But just to make sure that everything’s in order with your set-up, have you done a spindown on your Elite Suito? I don’t know that trainer personally, but the Elite site does mention that calibration is done via a spindown.