Beginner Climb

Hi,

I am brand new to Zwift and not the fittest, by any stretch of the imagination. I would like a Watopia climb which is reasonably constant (I tried to Innsbruck reverse KOM and the stop-start nature of the climb hurt a lot), I don’t do much climbing IRL as I live in a pretty flat place and so am trying to build up my climbing slowly. Any route’s people could recommend for a beginner, who is currently level 4, would be appreciated.

I hear the Epic KOM is a good starting point, but ideally I want to avoid the radio tower extra part of the climb and so would welcome suggestions which don’t include the radio tower (or is it just a case of selecting not to take the radio tower when I get up there?)

Thanks,
Jamie.

I would suggest riding up the Epic KOM (mountain 8 route) and keep straight at the “Bonus climb” Radio tower.

The figure 8

You can just choose going straight past the radio tower when you get there.

Thanks guys, will try the Mountain 8 route then! :slight_smile:

I’m fairly sure the Epic KOM default route avoids the “Bonus Climb” (Radio Tower). But yes, as others have said you can elect to avoid it anyway.

Zwift Mountain 8 does include the Radio Tower I think. Pretzel includes it too.

But unless you’re in an event, you can always choose not to take the turn.

1 Like

The volcano is a pretty good starter climb, definitely easier than the Epic.

2 Likes

I like doing workouts that have “sweet spot” (approx. 90% of FTP) blocks of 6 - 10 minutes while climbing the Epic KOM or the Alpe. It helps break the climb up into more manageable sections with some recovery built in. Plus, you gain XP faster in a workout when climbing vs. per mile/km.

Thanks for all the replies, I would be interested if there is a way of setting the FTP training thing you mentioned automatically, as in I have seen someone doing an FTP climb for 10 mins then 5 mins recovery then 10 mins FTP again, how would I set that to happen automatically in 1 of my rides please?