Apple Tv vs Ant+

Any opinions on which is better Apple tv or ant+. Bike shop salesman told me Apple tv was much better. Thanks for any input

Not following what you are comparing. AppleTV is a device that runs Zwift and ANT+ is a wireless protocol.

2 Likes

If you just mean is it better to run Zwift on a PC or Apple TV I think it just depends on your own circumstances, technical expertise and graphical requirements.

For me I use Apple TV as I didn’t want to move my PC or laptop in to the garage, I therefore use a permanent ATV in there which isn’t used for anything else.

I’m not too bothered about frame rates, graphics quality etc. So again ATV is fine for me.

If it goes wrong it is cheaper to buy a new ATV than a new PC as I am not very technical and unlikely to be able to fix PC related issues.

2 Likes

For info, a used PC that performs about as well as an Apple TV in Zwift is around a third of the price of an new Apple TV.

Edit: quick search of eBay and easily found some for a fifth of the price.

Can open.

Worms everywhere.

3 Likes

You should post up more details about your requirements, your budget etc. The “best” platform for one person may be a long way from the “best” for someone with different requirements.

1 Like

Haha, I’m not starting don’t worry. Just saying that if the in-game experience Apple TV offers is acceptable, and cost is a priority, then it’s really quite expensive. It has other benefits, but that isn’t one.

2 Likes

If you know your way around bluetooth and you can live with two connection (plus remote)…then ATV is convenient. Otherwise setting up a computer and using Ant+ is a bit more robust IME.

What’s the quality on a PC that costs USD $40? Sounds a bit sketchy to me.

1 Like

Lol, that may well be the case mate, but I like click & play. And having had Zwift on atv for 3 - 4 years now with only very minor glitches, I’m sticking with it. Also, IME atv boots up quicker than I can put my shoes on. Most pc’s don’t.

1 Like