What stationery bike should I get?

Hi, I am new to this.

I want an indoor bike that allows me to race against others and myself (PR) on Zwift.
I don’t want tot deal with power meter if possible.
I want to keep the price low if possible.

Appreciate any advice you can give.

Any thoughts on these 2 bikes?

1. Echelon Connect Sport.
    Robot or human?

2. Schwinn IC4
    Robot or human?

Any other bikes you would recommend?

Hi @Jeff_Ling and welcome to Zwift.

Spin bikes are known to have accuracy problems when it comes to power readings. If you want to race you should have a more accurate power source such as power meter pedals or a smart trainer. For around the same price you can get a Kickr Core or Elite Suito assuming you have a bike to hook up to a trainer. If not, find a cheap used road bike, or power meters are as low as $299 now but make sure they would be compatible with the spin bike.

This thread might help too:

I would suggest you get a smart trainer. The experience will be better, more fun and that means your fitness will improve faster.

1 Like

@Mike_Rowe_PBR
Thanks for the response.
I don’t have a road bike.
I am looking at these spin bikes because of convenience.
I saw those threads about the high output of the IC4 bike. That’s why I didn’t pull the trigger on that yet.
Trying to see if there are other / better spin bike options.
From reviews, the Echelon spin seems to work on Zwift. But I cannot find any discussions on the Echelon spin bike in the Zwift forums.
Anybody has experience with them?
Or any other suggestions?

DC Rainmaker said in a Video, the Wattbike Atom is the cheapest good stationary bike for indoor training.

I’d also get a good smart trainer like Kickr Core, Elite Direto X and a used or cheap road bike.
It’s cheaper and much more versatile.