W/kg and w all over the place when doing route

Hey all,

I am new to Zwift and new to cycling in general. I used to cycle a lot around 10y ago and recently decided that I want to get back into it, saw Zwift and was instantly in love with it. So I went online, bought the Zwift Hub and a Bike (yeah, didnt even have that anymore) and started Zwifting. I am now close to 3 weeks in and thoroughly enjoying it. So far I have mainly done a structured workout (Back To Fitness) where the resistance is adapted to what I am supposed to do.
Now recently I also started just doing some routes and yesterday I joined one of the Pride events. It was said that we should aim for 1,4w/kg. Didnt work that well as many went way harder, others slower. At some point I started riding with a group of 5 people and I really struggled to keep up. One guy pointed out that my w/kg is “all over the place” so I started keeping an eye on it. And yes, it indeed felt close to impossible to me to stay at a specific w/kg or W in general. I usually try to keep my cadence stable, but even then I feel like my W is jumping around a lot. Checking my unstructured workouts that is also visible in the graphs.
I am connected to an Apple TV 4K, in case that is of importance. I am also actively shifting gears during the routes.

So, to get to my question: Is there a problem with my setup? Or is this normal?

Ty for any answers :slight_smile:

Edit: Wanted to add some of my activities here but sadly that is not possible.

What equipment do you have?

If it is a wheel on trainer, I’d everything connected correctly and calibrated/tightened?

Some people put their trainers in erg mode and control this via a Garmin GPS. Even some ride leaders have admitted doing this, so they stay always at exactly 2.5w/kg or whatever other power is required.

Edit: the graph below looks fairly normal - like mine usually are.

Welcome to Zwift and the community, Steven. Good on you for taking the leap into this world.