Trainer Bike Opinions

Hi guys,

Brand new here and have little experience in cycling. So apologies if I’m in the wrong place.

I’m looking at getting into cycling, however the big outdoors scares me, I’m a driver and drivers scare me, plus I’ve had a good few friends now having serious incidents.

So I want to get an indoor bike to start on, and have stumbled across Zwift and it looks like it’s actually fun, as well as healthy.

I’ve had a look around the webs for a while now and seen spinning bikes, trainers, and the top end trainer bikes.

At first I thought I may be happy just getting a little spin bike and that would keep me happy, however I do feel motivation would drop quickly and excuses would pile up. And so would want it to integrate with Zwift as much as possible, so would need to get power metres? And maybe other sensors? To get a better experience.

So I’m looking for peoples opinions on where they would they spend their money if you in my shoes.

Guessing my options are?
Spin bike + sensors
Actual bike + a trainer
Fancy trainer bike, watt bike, tacx bike, stages, kickr bike

Where would you spend your money?

The fancy trainer bikes seem the most appealing to me tbh, however they are a hefty price, but my partner said she will use it too. But really struggling to justify £3k for the Kickr, but the immersive experience is tempting.

Or is the next gen wattbike much better value for £2k, that’s a hefty saving, although it’s a 15 week wait.

So opinions please :slight_smile:

Whatever it is, I’m going to clear out the garage and set it up in there, alongside a spare 2009 spec PC and 30” tv for the full experience. Ant+ and BT Dongles will be bought when required.

Just to mention I don’t own a bike, but I do have a fenix 5 and scosche rhythm+ hr if that changes your opinion in anyway.