Total Noob Questions

Hi Friends,

I’m brand new to the sport and have no idea what I’m doing but am having fun! I thought I was in the D category and enjoyed racing for the top spot but I got booted up to C division which is kind of a bummer but have now found a few competitive groups I can race against. It was strange since I was coming in 10th in some of these races in D it is what it is I suppose. Since I can’t win I tend to give it my all in the sprint sections as that’s was my phenotype for Zwift academy/have always been hockey player so makes sense. Would like to join a team and learn a bit more. Wondering if anyone can help clarify a few things?

Here are some questions:

Am I in the correct category?
Is my FTP Correct? I’ve done a few tests and it’s stayed at 211.
Am I riding in the correct HR Zone when competing? (should I be pushing harder, I feel like I have zero aerobic capacity and have started long zone 2 rides)
Should I be going for these sprint segment “green jersey” sections during a race, or is it hindering my development/points accumulation?
Should I bugger off and ask a coach these questions and stop asking for free advice?

Open to any and all suggestions!

Thanks!

Brandon

1 Like

Cat C racing tips:

Go hard at the start to get into the front group

Stay with the front group as long as you can

Know the course. If there’s a climb, be prepared to dig in to keep in touch, and remember that the climb includes the first 20 seconds of the descent. If you shut off the gas at the top of the climb you’ll get dropped.

Rinse and repeat for the next few months - and enjoy.

1 Like

Great tip David. Do you think I should be saving my juice for those climbs? I think it’s pretty obvious my racing strategy is poor/nonexistent! I thought you’re supposed to get extra points for winning a sprint or at least placing well?