Should I get an extra wheel?!

Hi all, I’ve been using Zwift for a few months on a Trek Domane AL2. I’ve put a training tire on and am using an old Tacx basic trainer but it does the job. Now that the weather is picking up, I want to get back out on the road on weekends but I know in the week I wont go out and will use the trainer instead. The problem I have is, I would have to keep changing the tire every time and must admit that I’m not that great at doing that! I know I can use Zwift on the road tire but that’s not what I want to do.

Should I get a spare wheel, put a spare Shimano HG31 cassette on it and put the training tire on that? I have disc brakes but I wouldn’t need brakes on the spare wheel. I could then just swap the wheel out when I need to.

Or is that just madness?

Also would I cause an issue if I accidentally pressed the brakes and the disc wasn’t in place? Not that I would try and do that.

That’s what I did for a few years before I made a dedicated trainer bike.
The Disc brake issue is tricky.
If you squeeze the brake lever without a disc, you can over extend your brake calipers.
I have no brakes on my trainer bike because I wanted a clean handle bar to mount things.

1 Like

If you do this you will want to get a disc caliper insert to protect your brake pads should you accidentally pull on the brake lever.