Shorter FTP session

I’m new to Zwift having set up my new Tacx Flux 2 yesterday.
What the heck. Today was the day to do my FTP session, the shorter 45 min. Around ‘Richmond’.
Now I’m not unfit. I can cycle a hilly 25 in less than 1hour 40 without too much stress.
My MHR at 66 years is 180.
First time through I got to the 225 W for 2 min and hit a 4% climb and my legs ground to a halt!
Reboot and recalibrate. Same bit, early into 225 W for 2 min and I blow up with heart rate way over 170. Any ideas? I’ve been a club cyclist in past years and an elite runner so pain is no stranger.

The terrain won’t have affected your FTP test, so that 4% climb won’t have come through to your legs. So which part of the test were you doing? If it was the warmup then perhaps your estimated FTP was too high (this is what it uses to gauge the warmup).

Thank you Steve. It did come through the climb in terms of the resistance drastically rising to the point where it overcame my muscle strength almost instantly. I didn’t realise until a few minutes ago that you can lower your estimated FTP. I’ll do that. Someone elsewhere suggested that the test only starts ignoring gradient once you get into the 20 min test session itself?

Gradient is always flat when you are in workout mode (There is on exception but it is not applicable to the FTP test)

You can use the Incline button on the Companion app in the 20 min section to increase or decrease the resistance (± keyboard keys also work and the onscreen buttons)

1 Like

Something isn’t right then Gerrie. It was a big increase in resistance above the 225 watts I was already working.
I will lower my estimated FTP and try again when rested.

Do a test with the workout, skip past the first few blocks and go to the one before the 20min section ride that block and when it goes to the 20min section see if you can adjust the resistance,

Thank you. Steep learning curve with skipping and stuff while riding. I need to play with things for a bit methinks.