Ramp test FTP accuracy vs lab test

Hi everyone, I’m new to Zwift and also new to posting on here. I wonder if anyone can help with the following…

I joined Zwift last week with the intention of doing a lot of my pre season on it. For the past 3 years Ive used Trainerroad and always got good results but this year a friend suggested Zwift as he’s on it and we can ride together. Anyway…

On Xmas eve I did the dreaded ramp test to set my FTP for the winter. I’ve not been doing a tonne of riding over the last few months… 100 miles a week maybe, but I did a half ironman back in the summer so I think I had a bit of fitness still from that. So my FTP popped out at 304, which I was super surprised at given that I went into my ironman at 290 but I havnt ridden much since the race. I know for a fact I couldnt hold 304 for an hour… which is the whole point of an FTP test. I’m slightly annoyed that I went through the pain of the ramp test and now I cant rely on the result to set my zones.

I know there’s a lot out there in forums about the accuracy of the ramp test in determining FTP but a lot of the posts were quite old, so I thought I’d start a fresh one.

Im interested to know other people’s experiences of the results of the full ramp test and particularly interested to hear from anyone who has had a test in a lab (VO2 max / blood lactate) to see if their Zwift ramp test FTP is anywhere near accurate compared to those more reliable lab tests.

thanks in advance for any insights.

John

If you’re experienced at pacing longer efforts, I would recommend doing one of the standard FTP tests, not the ramp test.

1 Like

It’ll put you roughly in the ballpark. If things are too hard lower it a bit. If things are too easy raise it a bit. Don’t overthink it.

2 Likes

I was going to share some links, but it seems like they are blocked here. You can search for the following article: