Race dynamics roadmap

Yesterday I raced for the first time on RGT. I was told by my teammates how the race dynamics are way more realistic compared to Zwift and I cannot emphasize how much of a difference it is.

I’ve been racing on Zwift in the high end of the B’s for 2 years now, won some, lost most, but I’ve never experienced this much fun in any Zwift race yet.

Main differences:

• Groups are only faster if they push harder then you. There is no magic ‘amount of riders = speed x 2’
  • Drafting takes effort
  • You get dropped? You can get back on
  • You place an attack? You can stay away
  • Wanna try team tactics? It works just like you see on TV (I know because team ADR destroyed me with 3 guys in our group)

And tactics wise… You can see the relative effort the others are having to invest (by means of powerzone colored bar) in addition to the w/kg so you can think about a correct tactic/response and who to respond to.

I’ve never fought so hard for a top 30 spot in 2 years of Zwift races and simply because it was FUN fighting the other guys. (I got 31st so ADR beat me.)

RGT isn’t flawless but they sure nailed this imo.

In comparison Zwift feels like we’re just playing last man standing interval edition. You hang on push hard on segments and bunch sprint to the finish in 95% of the races.

Is there a roadmap available somewhere to see what the plans are around racing or changing the dynamics?

13 Likes

Good post. I’m not so fussed about the RGT comparison, but fixing the most foundational aspect of the platform by default improves everything else. Zwift dont share roadmaps typically, but as the competition starts to evolve and there are more choices for customers, it would be wise to.

7 Likes