Newbie w/kg question - can't find answer anywhere

Hi guys. I’m new to Zwift and cycling in general. I have not just jumped on here without trying to find the answer myself, but none of my searches specifically address my question.

I am using a Wattbike Atom, so my figures should be pretty accurate.

I weigh around 98/99kg. On my last ride I averaged 2.7w/kg (260w) and finished the ride in 1:15:05

When I compared those stats to a similar sized rider holding the same Watts he finished in 1:07:19

What am I missing? Two riders weighing the same and putting out the same avg watts should have pretty similar times I would have thought. But I’m missing something. Please help.
Are his tactics or when he puts down his power enough to make that kind of difference?

Thanks.

It’s double draft in Tour De Zwift, that’ll make a world of difference if that’s where you both rode?

Do some research on drafting in Zwift.

Also bike choice will play a part.

3 Likes

Average watts does not tell the full story. If he used more watts on the climbs where you loose the most time he could still have the same avr. Also drafting as Stuart mentioned.

2 Likes

Plus you are taller so you will have more drag in Zwift.

1 Like

Thanks guys. Some of those things crossed my mind but I didn’t think it would add up to almost 8 minutes difference.
I also just found out that a TT bike doesn’t draft. I literally just changed to a TT a couple of days ago and this was my first group ride. And as someone above mentioned this ride did have double draft. So now I’m wiser and I’ll change it up on the next ride.

Thanks everyone.

3 Likes

On the plus side I can make some quick gains with some tactic and equipment changes :grinning:

1 Like