New trainer suggestion

I have an old Tacx Fortius that seems to have finally died. Over the years I lost interest in the Real Life Videos and generally just did the Cadence workouts. So, now I’m in the market for a new trainer - probably not a smart trainer due to cost and no real need for all the fancy features. I am considering the CycleOps JetFluid Pro - good reviews, simple, quiet. I like the idea of using my Pioneer power meter and ANT+ speed/cadence with the trainer on Zwift. 

I am soliciting opinions about trainers from the experts out there. Any issues with the JetFluid Pro on or off of Zwift? Any other suggestions?

Thanks for your input.

Do you have a power meter on the bike?  If so, the trainer choice is less important as power is the one metric that Zwift needs.  

A basic trainer will just give estimated power so you’d want to pick one off of the supported trainer list.  Without a power meter, you’d then need a Ant+ speed sensor for it to estimate power.

I’m no expert but recently did a fair bit of research to purchase my first trainer and for the price range you’re looking at you could consider the Tacx Vortex Smart.

Mike - How have you found the Vortex? Based on my experience with Tacx, I was avoiding the brand (buggy software, pay for all the upgrades, closed software, poor/slow customer support).

Hi Brian,

For the price I have found it really good. It was a bit fiddly to setup but in all fairness only took 5-10 minutes. It’s really quiet and feels really smooth. I’ve only had it for about 6 weeks but initial impressions are really good.