Keeping up with group rides

So my FTP is low - 1.97w/kg (90kg). I am new to cycling (to augment my running) and have a good base fitness. What is a good rule of thumb for being able to maintain the group ride ‘class’ w/kg ranges? I tried to keep up with D grade (1.7-2 w/kg) and was only able to average 1.7w/kg for 1 and bit laps of a 4 lap event when I was ‘done’. What percentage of FTP are these endurance rides aimed at? ie the minimum for this ride was just a tad over 80% of my FTP.

1. You’re starting with general-aerobic fitness greater than your cycling-specific fitness. I suspect that your cycling fitness will rise quickly as you put the miles in on the saddle.

2. I suspect that either the FTP value you’re using is too high or you were tired or otherwise not your best during that ride. By (the casual) definition, FTP is the maximum power you can sustain for 60 minutes. 80% of FTP would be in the “tempo” power range, an effort that you can sustain for something like 2.5 to 8 hours. TrainingPeaks has an explanation here: www.trainingpeaks.com/blog/power-training-levels . Rides of that duration do require training; most people who can ride at a certain level for an hour at perceived exertion of 3-4 on a scale of 10 cannot just assume they can maintain that level for say, six hours, without working up to that. And in the same way, being able to go all out and maintain a certain level of power for twenty minutes does not mean you can assume that you can take 95% of that power and maintain that for 60 minutes. If you get your FTP from a short test like that, you can’t automatically assume that you can maintain that FTP for an hour. I’ve heard or read from several sports scientists that the reliable way to get your sixty minute power is to test for an hour, and the shorter tests are unreliable. I suspect that is especially true for new riders.

1 Like