Horrible Speeds Up Hill

Hi,

Question: I wonder if anybody knows if it is normal to get only 25-30KM per hour on flat ground and 4km per hour uphill no matter how fast you go?

Details: I am on a huge learning curve as this is my first time diving into cycling indoors like this. I am using a dumb trainer with a speed and cadence meter. I do plan on buying a tracx flow smart trainer, but I would like to know if there is anything I can check to improve my speeds (mainly uphill) on this trainer first. It isn’t very encouraging when a jogger jogs past you on a hill. I don’t want to buy a smart trainer because I messed something up in the game or forgot to fill something out and get the same results as a dumb trainer. I do think I have it all set accordingly!

My trainer doesn’t appear on the list, so I have another one selected because the unsupported option barely moves for me.

With that, I am open to any questions you may have for me to get on track and up to speed!

Thank you ahead of time for your help.

First off I will say this: do not worry about the runners passing you on the hills. In Zwift the terrain is of no consequence to the runners, as it is for the cyclist. So, if I runner is going 10 km/h it will be that way whether they are going flat, or down, or up. It is not uncommon to be passed by runners on hills.