Help Needed to Understand my Metrics

Hi,

I’m relatively new to Zwift, and am riding a Schwinn IC8 indoor bike (same as the IC4 sold in the States). I have entered three races now and am trying to make sense of the data that Zwift presents me.

I did the 3R Figure 8 Hilly Race Cat B - 1 lap (29.2 km) race this morning at 0810 UK time). My FPT was 282W, updated by Zwift following my previous race – at 82kg that gave me a w/kg figure of 3.4.

I finished 16/20, and my race results data were:

HR : 137 AVG, 162 MAX
TIME : 44.52
POWER : 335W
W/KG : 4.09

Cadence : 74 AVG, 121 MAX

As I understand it, the IC8 provides a power reading to Zwift, but Zwift cannot control the resistance level of the bike. For this race I left the level at 38 (the IC8 range is 0 – 100). I notice that when going up a hill, Zwift slows my speed down, whereas on the bikes own display it is unchanged. As I am not changing the level myself, I maintain the same Cadence. One final point, I get the little lightening symbol next to my W/KG on the Zwift board, so its not using zPower (?).

What I don’t understand is that on the Race Results sheet, my displayed power of 335W and my 4.09 W/KG seems quite high. The guy who finished 1 second ahead of me had an average power of 218W and a W/KG of 3.69.

I’m not expecting to be anywhere near the top, and was quite happy with my position, and certainly felt like I’d had a good workout. But can anyone throw any light on these figures? Is Zwift compensating/correcting the IC8’s power output? And how do I improve? Do I increase my average Cadence? Do I play with the bike’s resistance levels during a race?