Group rides are to fast

I move this from another topic.

WelbyWelby_Lloyd

I am new to Zwift. and starts the academy. did my ramp test with a 1.7 w/ kg . So I’m working on it. But joined my first group ride in the D category. So I hoped I could keep up with that pack. I was lapped by the end of the group ride. most guys had been pushing well over the 2.3 or 2.4 mostly in the 3 to 3 + range including the leader. don’t know if that is common and kind of sucks that I couldn’t keep up. but if that is how most group rides are I can see how most people decide not to join them as I did see a bunch of people just leave the ride after a few.

@Welby_Lloyd welcome to the forum.

this topic is more for Racing, and it seem like you are talking about a group ride. Group rides does not have different starting categories. but you are correct a D group ride should be at lower watts, but different D group rides has different w/kg ranges.

Looking at the ride on Zwift power, it look like the ride leader was within the w/kg range

I would suggest finding rides that have lower w/kg requirements, to build up your power while having fun.

@Welby_Lloyd welcome to the forum!

I’d suggest using the companion app and looking for very large group rides with cat ‘E’ (everyone) or just D. Some of these have 100s of people of all abilities. Join one of these, the bigger the better. At the moment, the biggest ones are usually the Zwift Academy rides.

Many people will be fast and fly off but usually 10s of small pelotons form very quickly with the full range of abilities. In the larger rides there really is a peloton for everyone, you’ll soon naturally fall into a smaller (10-20+ people) peloton of similar ability people.

These are usually really fun as pelotons often catch and split, and you’re group may try to keep ahead of chasing groups, or catch the next one if it’s small and over-worked.