"Find friend" feature

I started riding with a friend today and lost him when he stopped to turn his fan on (it was just before a turn and he took the other one). Despite various texts, we couldn’t find each other again for the whole ride. Would there be scope for a “take me to my friend” button on a friend’s profile when you’re riding? Would also be useful to find a friend who starts riding when you’re mid session and you’d like to join up.

Agreed!

In order to support segments and virtual rides at real places (e.g. Richmond course), Zwift is using real GPS coordinates and these are saved to the .FIT file that is generated for every ride. When this is uploaded to Strava, etc. you can see where you rode and have segments because they are real GPS coordinates even though it was a virtual ride.

That being said, having a “ride with friend” while your ride is already in progress would mean you would magically jump from one location to another and this would show up in the GPS log as a straight line going from one point to another. This would cause all of your metrics (e.g. avg. speed, distance, etc.) to be incorrect.

Now, maybe one day Zwift could implement the “ride” or “jump” to friend feature but it would mean that you would end your current ride and then you would start an entirely new ride at the new location.

I guess another option, perhaps less desirable to most people, is if Zwift allowed you to just ride but it’s not recording your data for the purpose of generating a .FIT file of your ride. If this were the case, then you could jump around the course as much as you’d like but would also not be allowed to participate in any KOM/jersey competitions. 

My guess is that Zwift may never implement this because once we start talking about group rides, races, etc. having the ability to “jump” around is unfair and unrealistic. 

1 Like