ERG mode not making it possible at 300+ watts

I’m fairly new to Zwift and really enjoying it. The problem: Whenever I do an ERG workout and it gets to the high 200’s or 300s the resistance is so strong I can barely pedal my bike.

When ERG is off I can get myself into the 300+ 400+ without an issue an hold for 10+ seconds.

Why is ERG mode doing this? It is making doing any FTP builder plans impossible.

For reference I am riding on a Wahoo Kickr Snap.

Thanks fellow Zwift Heads

Kickr Snap, I could have guessed this before I got to where you said Kickr Snap. From my experience having had 2 of them, exchanging the first one then finally getting a refund is their power accuracy is a joke. It’s not even linear and the higher the power target the further out the accuracy is e.g.

150 watts on Kickr Snap = 130 watts on power meter (under)
180 watts on Kickr Snap = 180 watts on power meter (about the only time it agrees)
200 watts on Kickr Snap = 240 watts on power meter (over from here on)
250 watts on Kickr Snap = 350 watts on power meter
300 watts on Kickr Snap = locks up the back wheel

My advice is to get a refund and buy a direct drive trainer. You’ll thank me.

1 Like

I’ve had a kickr snap for many years (as have many people) and I don’t find these problem with inaccuracy so I can only say the opposite to Nigel. It does of course have to be regularly calibrated.

I complete a lot of workouts in ERG and used to get the problems of it being to hard. What I found was the the knob controlling the closeness of the rear wheel to the resistance plate needed to be tightened further (so that the tyre is closer to the plate). I would try doing this and then calibrate using the wahoo fitness or wahoo utility phone app (rather than through Zwift).

2 Likes

If you know a high power interval is coming up, try to get your cadence up to maybe 90-100 rpm a few seconds before, then it should be possible to achieve the power required without getting bogged down.

2 Likes