Cheap direct drive setup that can hold power. 7 speed on direct drive

For the record I am no cyclist. I like resistance training. But I do need something for cardio.

I am new to zwift and took some time and a little extra money ($200) to try and find the cheapest new bike I could set up on a direct drive trainer. I normally ride a giant revolt on a saris H3. But I traded my brother for a cycleops hammer from 3 years ago. He rides a lot and I don’t so he got the quiet trainer lol. Damn is it much quieter!

I am 5’ 7” tall and around 175lbs just for reference.

The bike:
Enters Walmart and their Kent Genesis gravel bike on a holiday special of $128. Lol no kidding. It’s still $128 as I type this. I got a shram 7 speed cassette and cassette spacer kit for $20 off Amazon. I also put a new seat and post on it for $40 and a shorter stem for $10 also Amazon. Basically $200 not including the spd petals and shoes. You don’t need the pedals or shoes to ride but I have them so I used them.

The trainer is a 3 year old cycleops hammer. The original. Some call it the H1. It’s loud as a jet but is reliable.

So yes a cheap 7/14/21 speed freewheel bike will bolt right up to a direct drive trainer with some spacers to tune the gear spacing. I used three spacers. 1mm, 2mm and 2.5mm. Then followed standard tuning steps.

The best part is this cheap ass thing can handle some serious power. Today was only 1600watts but I have hit 1800 on rgt on this bike.

All together if you got a used cycleops and a cheap Walmart bike you can have the full zwift experience for under $500 that can handle serious power. The 1556w pull was seated and the 1592 was standing. As you can see I have no idea how to sprint on a bike to the point that my seated power is as strong as standing.

Enjoy

I would include a link to a YouTube I did with pulls at 1600w but it won’t allow links :person_facepalming:t3:. The pics is to show the bike did take the power.

This is the cassette and spacers I used.