Beginner Equipment Questions

I’m brand new to Zwift AND indoor cycling so I’m starting off with some equipment questions.
Basically I need to know what features I will need to get into the complete Zwift experience.
I’m thinking of getting a spin bike and hook that up to my PC.
1 - I assume that I will need the bike to have a cadence meter or that I will have to attach one if I get a bike without a built in one. Will that be enough to enable me to race on courses against AI or real opponents?
2 - Do Zwift courses include hills or are the flat? If they do have hills what features will I need to sense the increased resistance? (Frankly I don’t know the difference between a cadence meter, a power meter or a speed meter so I could use some help there.)

I guess the basic question is - what are the necessary features for a spin bike to get the full Zwift experience?

Thanks for any answers.

so how much money are you thinking of spending? to get the full Zwift experience you need a smart trainer plus bike or a bike smart trainer which is what I think you mean by a spin bike. Either will provide cadence, speed and power. Heart rate can also be added with a HRM. either will take care of the terrain in Zwift (going uphill, downhill, dirt roads etc.) If you never want to ride outside then the bike smart trainer will be likely be the cheapest choice - both wahoo and Tacx offer one, maybe others.

1 Like

With a regular spin bike the best way to experience Zwift is to add a power meter (pedals are the most popular method and Assioma is a popular brand), however a spin bike will never allow you to fully experience Zwift with a sense of hills (grade changes), resistance and ERG for workouts. For that you will need either a direct drive trainer plus a regular 8 to 11 speed bike or stand alone smart bike trainer.