Annoying Robopacer Behavior

I’ve never used robopacers before. It’s great that people enjoy using these. However, I don’t really have a personal use for them. I am in the midst of recovering from injury right now and just want to get on my bike and complete routes of a certain length.

Yesterday, when I was halfway done with my route, a saw someone chat something about robopacers and then a huge group of them flew by me. When this happened, the focus of my ride changed from following the route I was on to telling me how far I was away from one of the robopacers. It switched back and forth a few times and then finally I thought it was locked back on my route but it switched and veered off course of my route so it no longer gave me the elevation I was expecting and I didn’t complete the route I had ridden for over an hour.

This is annoying behavior that I wish could be disabled.

I’ve been overtaken by RP groups many times and it has never affected the route I had originally chosen. If I’m in that group at a junction I need to consciously choose the direction to stay with the RP, otherwise Zwift will direct me onto my original route.

1 Like

I’ve never had this either.

It is annoying that it overrides the course distance to be the drops multiplier but never had it change my route. Everything goes back to how they were when they go past or your route takes you in a different direction.

1 Like

I’ve never experienced that. Sure they have gone past me, or I went past them - but aside from drops multiplier I remained in my intended route unless I navigated to follow the others.

1 Like

Same for me. Been passed by many a group and not once has it diverted me off my chosen route.

I wonder if the OP had been struck by an existing route direction bug that’s flared up right at the time the group was nearby.