Advice on buying frames/wheels

Hi. I’m new to this whole environment having started only a couple of weeks ago. Was wondering what strategy to follow when it comes to buying new frames and wheels. Is it better to buy new equipment as soon as you have earned enough drops (and level) to do so? Or to save your drops until you can purchase one of the more highly rated frames/wheels. I ask because the Level 1 equipment I’m using (Zwift Carbon, Mountain, TT) seem slow in earning drops and looks like it would take me a long time to accumulate the several hundred thousand drops needed for the highly rated equipment. I’m assuming that any equipment above Level 1 is going to be faster in earning drops; correct me if I’m wrong. Any advice would be appreciated. Thank you.

Have a good look at the website - zwift Insider.
He has listed equipment that is best for levels you are at.
His website is very easy to search through and he has lots of reports on fastest frames n wheels etc and best climbing frames n wheels.
He however does not tell you what to wear as the kit does not effect anything except your fashion.

Vlad, hi. Thank you for your input. I’ve done research on Zwift Insider and, yes, they have a wealth of information regarding the various frame/wheels available for purchase. But my question is should I buy any new frame or wheel as soon as possible or stick it out with the Level 1 equipment until I’ve saved a large amount of drops to purchase the highly rated ones? If I can ask, what was the first thing you bought? And how long did you wait to buy it? Let me know. Thank you.

1 Like

Agree re checking out Zwift Insider for his shopping guide - in particular, target his “MUST BUY” items - they’re what you’re really asking about, I suspect. The ENVE wheels are the first on his list and they’re great.

In terms of earning drops, it seems hard at first , but as your mileage increases you’ll end up with more than you know what to do with.