11-50 SRAM Eagle cassette - trainer difficulty setting?

Hi all…

Newbie here - just bought a Wahoo Kickr to do some indoor training during the dark Scottish evenings!

I’m a mountain biker, and have hooked my old 2017 Stumpjumper onto the Kickr. The Stumpy has an Eagle X01 groupset, so I’ve bought the Eagle NX for the Kickr as it’s not got an XD driver. The indexing is slightly out, so I’ll have to tweak that before some real use. Bummer - I hoped it would just be a straight fit and go.

I had a brief blast round, and realised that I was pretty much in my top gear all the time on flats. The 11-50 cassette is generally designed for steep hills, and is quite easy to spin out on flats and downhills.

I wondered if there was a way of changing some settings to give me a bit more resistance, and see there is a ‘trainer difficulty’ setting. I’m led to believe this is an adjustment for different gear ranges - but doesn’t effect flat riding?

Is there a way of adding resistance so that I’m not spinning out on flats? What ‘trainer difficulty’ setting should I be using to help make my gearing more useful in Zwift?!

Thanks in advance…

Hi @Peter_Rattray

Welcome to the forum.

Trainer difficulty won’t change flat roads. Best option is a bigger front chainring.

1 Like

Well you could add 50 KG to your weight…that might slow you down a bit. If you have not done already, once into the ride, go to Menu/Settings and move slider all the way to right (100%). @Gerrie_Delport is correct, no help on flats but it will add a bit even at 1-2%. Do not ride flat routes.

Yet a third way to tweak your resistance is to manually set your Functional Threshold Power setting artificially too high. You’re tricking Zwift into thinking you’re stronger than you are, and because you have a smart trainer, the resistance will be increased.